When you arrive in La Foa (or leave from its northern side), consider taking a moment to soak in one of New Caledonia’s most emblematic monuments: the Marguerite bridge!

Named in honor of the wife of New Caledonia’s governor in power at the time of its construction in 1909, the Marguerite bridge offered a means of crossing the La Foa river for thirty years.

After 30 years’ unfailing service, no longer able to withstand the greater loads, the bridge was replaced by a new crossing, but was nonetheless kept and restored in 1998.

Where time stands still!

Voir plus
  • A historic monument since 1984

    A historic monument since 1984

    Added to the list of historic monuments in 1984, the Marguerite bridge is the work of the father of cable-stayed suspension bridges, Albert Gisclard (1844-1909). Indeed, in 1900, this polytechnician and ex-major applied for a patent that garnered him a certain degree of fame: the cable-stayed suspension bridge. The Marguerite bridge would later be manufactured in metropolitan France before being transported to New Caledonia to be assembled by convicts. 
    In a cruel twist of fate, its French designer died in a train accident the year of its official opening in 1909…

Discover the must-sees in La Foa